



www.wccc.com.au info@wccc.com.au

PO Box 3701 Weston Creek ACT 2611 Telephone (02) 6288 8975

Minutes of the General Meeting Wednesday, 24 September 2008, 7.45pm Meet the Candidates

1. Opening of Meeting

John Burke opened the meeting at 7.50, and welcomed all participants.

2. Apologies

Apologies were received from: Noel Tregoning

3. Minutes

Minutes of the previous meeting, which had been circulated with the agenda, were accepted as presented. (Moved: Eddie Irvine; Seconded: Tom Anderson)

4. Presentations from candidates for election to the ACT Legislative Assembly

Candidates each made a short speech in support of their candidacy.

- 1. Mike Hettinger (ALP)
- 2. Norvan Vogt (Community Alliance)
- 3. Simon Corbell (ALP)
- 4. Shane Rattenbury (Greens)
- 5. Frank Pangallo (Pangallo Independents)
- 6. Jacqui Burke (Liberal Party)
- 7. Jeremy Hansen (Liberal Party)
- 8. Richard Mulcahy (Independent)
- 9. Giulia Jones (Liberal Party)
- 10. Clinton White (Liberal Party)
- 11. Belinda Barnier (Liberal Party)
- 12. Alvin Popper (Community Alliance)
- 13. Gary Kent (Liberal Party)

These presentations were followed by a question-and-answer session, during which candidates responded to questions from WCCC members.

Topics covered included:

- High density housing in new Molonglo development
- Public transport plans for Molonglo
- ALP view on WCCC's submission in relation to a new community centre for Weston Creek
- Population policy specific to Canberra
- Deek's Forest Park

- Relocation of RSPCA
- Weston and Rivett school sites
- Density of development in North Weston
- Traffic access to Molonglo area and effect on other main roads
- Parking at Cooleman Court
- Widening of Cotter Road at Curtin

The meeting was closed at 9.30pm

Established 1991

ABN: 52 841 915 317

Weston Creek Citizens Council Inc.

Reg. no. A 2637